Baroness Liddell


Jonathan Briggs



Ruth Herbert

Chief Executive

Ruth joined the CCSA in October 2021, following a public sector career spanning almost two decades. In her previous role as Director of Strategy & Development at the Low Carbon Contracts Company, Ruth oversaw implementation of two key features of today’s electricity market – the CfD and Capacity Market – and the company’s development into a trusted advisor to government on decarbonisation.  At the Department of Energy and Climate Change, Ruth headed the Electricity Market Reform Programme Office, overseeing delivery of the White Paper and Energy Act 2013. In 2008-9, following her negotiation of the EU Directive on CO2 storage, Ruth led on international CCS policy and the London Ministerial Carbon Sequestration Leadership Forum. She was a Financial Services Strategy adviser at HM Treasury and an economic adviser for the City of London Corporation.

Olivia Powis

Head of UK Office

Olivia Powis is Head of the UK Office at the Carbon Capture and Storage Association (CCSA), where she works in partnership with the Chief Executive and CCSA Board on developing the UK strategy and work programme of the association.

Before joining the CCSA, Olivia was a Senior Policy Manager at the National Infrastructure Commission where she led on a number of projects including; a review of UK economic regulation, the role of infrastructure in housing and developing the NIC’s first Diversity and Inclusion strategy. Her background is in energy regulation and policy development as well as strategic communications.

Chris Gent

Policy Manager

Chris joined the Carbon Capture and Storage Association in January 2019 after five years working as a Deep Subsurface Geoscientist at the British Geological Survey.

During his time at the British Geological Survey, Chris specialised on offshore CO2 storage site appraisal in the North Sea and East Irish Sea Basins. Chris brings a strong technical understanding of the geological aspects of CCS to the secretariat and is passionate to ensure that strong policy frameworks can be introduced to accelerate CCUS deployment across the UK and Europe.

Judith Shapiro

Communications Manager

Judith Shapiro is the Communications Manager at the Carbon Capture and Storage Association, where she covers a wide range of topics; in particular ensuring that the varying views of the Association are appropriately represented in the political environment, the media, social media and the wider stakeholder community.

Prior to joining CCSA, Judith worked for both the UK Business Council for Sustainable Energy and the Combined Heat and Power Association as a Researcher.

Ross Kennedy

Policy Officer

Ross is a Policy Officer at the Carbon Capture and Storage Association and coordinates the CCSA’s Technical Working Group. Ross joined the CCSA in July 2021 after working as a Private Secretary to Special Advisers at the Department of Business, Energy, and Industrial Strategy, and previously as an intern in the Subsurface Geoscience team at Equinor.

He holds a First – Class BSc (Earth Science) from the University of Glasgow and an MSc (Petroleum Geoscience) from Imperial College London. Ross is passionate about CCUS and the role which it will play in the future energy and climate landscape in the UK and Europe, and the positive impact we can achieve towards reaching Net Zero.

Georgina Katzaros

Policy Officer

Georgina Katzaros is a Policy Officer at the Carbon Capture and Storage Association, where she will be focusing on the developing CCUS policy space, as well as coordinating the CCSA’s new Supply Chain Working Group. Georgina is a Geoscientist with over five years of experience working in technical and commercial roles for the oil and gas industry.

She holds a First Class MSci Geology degree from the University of Birmingham and an MSc in Petroleum Geoscience from Imperial College London.


Per-Olof Granström

EU Director

Per-Olof Granström is the EU Director at CCSA. He has previously held various positions in the European energy sector, such as: Secretary General of EDSO, Vice Chairman of the Global Smart Grid Federation, Director of European Affairs at Vattenfall, Executive Vice President at Swedenergy and Vice President/ Director of trade at Nord Pool, the Nordic Power Exchange. He holds a MSc in Industrial Engineering and Management from Linköping University in Sweden.

Giorgia Bozzini

EU Policy and Communications Officer

As EU policy and communications officer for CCSA, Giorgia is actively involved in the ZEP Secretariat and SET – Plan Implementation Working Group 9 on CCUS. She supports the policy and outreach activities of ZEP – coordinating the work of Network Policy & Economics and Network Technology and monitoring the EU policy agenda. Prior to joining the CCSA, Giorgia worked for a European political foundation, catering to a network of forty-six members across Europe. Giorgia holds a Masters degree from the Université Libre de Bruxelles – Institut d’Etudes Européennes (ULB–IEE).

Meghann Kissane

EU Communications and Events Officer

Meghann Kissane is the Communications and Events Officer at CCSA in Brussels. Prior to joining CCSA, Meghann worked in Brussels as Communications Advisor at SolarPower Europe, the European solar power association. Meghann is a graduate of the University of Limerick, Ireland with a BA in Applied Languages, majoring in French, Spanish and German.